- Compatible XF 2.x versions
- Additional requirements
- PHP 8
- Visible branding
Community Hive allows your visitors, either registered members or guests, to follow your community. They can then receive updates in a feed, push notifications, and email digests.
Visitors can follow multiple communities to keep them engaged and discover new communities to join.
By enabling Community Hive, your community reaches a larger audience and gets a free email service to keep your members up to date and coming back. There is no cost to enable Community Hive and the entire service is designed to send your community new visitors in a secure, private way.
How Community Hive Drives Traffic to your CommunityCommunity Hive is designed to send traffic to your community. It does this in a few ways:
- Content is only shown as a snippet so visitors must go to your community to read the full content.
- There are algorithms in place to learn what is popular and move it up your feed. Visitors to Community Hive are given suggestions for similar communities they follow and trending content. This allows new members to discover your community.
- Following your community on Community Hive does this via sending a visitor to your community first. This allows you the opportunity to capture the visitor to become a member on your community. If they are not ready to join, they can also follow anonymously. If they join later, they can link up their existing Community Hive account.
- Visitors cannot interact with your content on Community Hive. They have to go to your site.
Privacy FirstWhen we were developing Community Hive, one of our main goals was to put privacy first.
- On communityhive.com, no cookies are set if you are just browsing.
- If you login, just one cookie is set to authenticate your access.
- We do not track you by IP. There are IP-based flood protections in place but they are not attached to anything identifying a person and are temporary data just for security.
- You can delete your entire account in account settings and we instantly purge all your data.
- Your email address is the only personal data we store.
Privacy of community members:
- When you click Follow on a community and are directed to Community Hive, the community you came from shares your email with us but that is only for convenience. It is just used to pre-populate the confirmation page and is then deleted.
- You can override the pre-shared email address or, if you already have a Community Hive account, attach the follow that way. Either way, the community you followed is never told what email you end up using.
- If you choose Follow Anonymously on a community, it really is anonymous. The community manager is never given your email address.
Privacy for community managers:
- Your community only shows in Discover view if you opt-in
- Only content viewable by visitors who are not logged into your community will show in Discover view.
- If you move (or delete) content so it's not longer viewable by not logged in visitors, your community plugin will tell Community Hive to make that change.
- If you change a member's permissions or delete/ban a member, the plugin will tell Community Hive to reset the follower's permissions.
- Your syndicated content is only stored as a snippet of text and only stored for a few days before purged.