XF 2.2 User upgrades after migrating from vB4 - not removing user from group when cancelled

PatD

New member
So we recently migrated from vB 4 to XF 2.2. We had user upgrades via Paypal setup on the vB side and have reconfigured on the XF side. Since there's no (easy) way to have XF work with the existing Paypal recurring payments, I was simply going to cancel the Paypal subscription (On the Paypal side) and have folks re-sign up on the XF side.

But if someone does not re-up, it appears XF does not remove them from the upgraded user group that happens when they purchase a subscription. Is this because XF wasn't originally responsible for putting them in the upgraded group?

If that's the case, sounds like we'll need to manually remove folks if/when needed on some kind of regular basis. Or is there a better way?
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
Is this because XF wasn't originally responsible for putting them in the upgraded group?
Yes, that's the cause.

What you could do is remove any existing members from the group and manually promote them with an end date of their current subscription.

Then they can purchase the XF upgrade once they are demoted.
 

PatD

New member
Yes, that's the cause.

What you could do is remove any existing members from the group and manually promote them with an end date of their current subscription.

Then they can purchase the XF upgrade once they are demoted.

That'll work. Pain, but so be it. Thanks for the tip!
 
Top