Themes

Hey there! I was thinking about learning to style Xenforo and with that, purchase a license to do professional Xenforo styling. However before I do so I wanted to try and get a general idea of how difficult it is to Style Xenforo for an experienced HTML/CSS developer. I’m a web designer, and I’m very experienced with designing using html and css. So how difficult would it be to learn to style xenforo for a HTML/CSS Web designer?

I’m very experienced with designing using html and css

If you're very experienced, you shouldn't have any issues with xenforo. The template files are HTML and the stylesheets are .less, but you can just use plain css if you wish since it's interchangeable. There's a user interface in the admin panel which allows you to easily assign colour schemes as well as configure other elements, so you can take advantage of that and use it in your code too.

If you're very experienced, you shouldn't have any issues with xenforo. The template files are HTML and the stylesheets are .less, but you can just use plain css if you wish since it's interchangeable. There's a user interface in the admin panel which allows you to easily assign colour schemes as well as configure other elements, so you can take advantage of that and use it in your code too.

Thanks for the info!

I've never seen a reference so I don't think one exists, but I may be wrong.. Using the "Search templates" feature in the left column is a helpful way of finding a template. Simply paste some unique code into that area and it should narrow down results for you :)

For example, the editor which I'm currently typing in is wrapped with a css class called message--quickReply. When I search for that piece of code, the quick_reply_macros template file is returned, which contains the HTML for this block, as well as the message.less file which contains the css portion.