Suggestions for best way to do XF version control?

entelechy

I'm at the point now where I'm transitioning from designing and building my forum to launching, and until now using DigitalOcean droplet snapshots and reverting if needed has sufficed fine.

But as users begin signing up and using the forum, I've realised that I can't just revert to a snapshot from a week ago and wipe all of the user data during that period.

I'm also relatively new to software engineering as a whole, and care about using the best method of version control that I can for my forum, for long-term optimisation of the processes I'm implementing.

If anyone has advice on how they're managing version control, and any reasons to go one way instead of another, your experience would be very helpful at this point.

What changes specifically? I would start by creating a local setup on your PC to dev/test and then you can move changes from there to production.

I would start by creating a local setup on your PC to dev/test and then you can move changes from there to production.

This. At my company we have multiple environments for dev and UAT (so we have our testers testing one set of changes while we keep working on another), but for a simple forum, just a single dev/test environment should be enough. Develop your changes, make sure they work as planned, deploy.

I put mine in a secured subdomain (test.xx.xx) on my host rather than a local copy because we have multiple admins who may get involved in work so I need it to be accessible to them.

This. At my company we have multiple environments for dev and UAT (so we have our testers testing one set of changes while we keep working on another), but for a simple forum, just a single dev/test environment should be enough. Develop your changes, make sure they work as planned, deploy.