Interested in purchasing creating & running a message board, don't know where to start-

PrueHalliwell

I am interested in creating a small message board for me & my social circle for general discussion, fan fiction writing, & a board based rp. Although I've been a member of message boards in the past (mainly vbulletin based), I do not have have any experience with creating a message board or the the technical aspects, & I don't know where to begin. Xenforo came highly recommended but I'm wondering how I can get help with set up. I'm also trying to understand pricing/options. If the pricing is reasonable for a board that has some extra features, I'm fine with that.

I've checked out the demo feature, & Here's a screen shot of the very basic set up of the board I have in mind. But I have no experience clue abt changing board style/color, doing banners, buttons, board add-ons for the rpg, etc.

1703659896402.webp

Last edited:
I would definitely consult @Paul B or really any other members of the staff/ sales team, but based on your tech experience you might be best with Xenforo’s cloud service. That’s not to say it’s hard to get a forum up.
With Xenforo’s cloud service they essentially take care of set up and the hosting along with the technical background stuff and let you worry about your forum.

To do it yourself here’s some general steps
  • Get a Domain
  • Get web hosting
- I’m not sure the exact requirements for Xenforo but other members can add to this, I’ve got a forum running on a mid tier hosting plan from a commercial hosting provider for like 8$ a month, it’ll need PHP/mySQL
  • Create a database user create database
  • Upload Xenforo to the server
  • Run the installer and your set to go
This is a general guide but is essentially it.

Styles and Addons can be tricky but there are lots of skilled venders here for that like @DohTheme.

Last edited: