HTTPS?

RobParker

We had one of our users message us with this:

Lack of HTTPS
Howdy, I was wondering why there is no HTTPS for the login page. That seems wildly insecure and a bit negligent. You can get a free SSL certificate from LetsEncrypt if price was an issue:
https://letsencrypt.org/

I'm a sys admin so I can give pointers or advice if you need assistance to install. There is a great community here but it's scary to think how many people's passwords are sent in clear text whenever they log in. Please consider adding an SSL certificate.

My understanding was that HTTPS was overkill and not really needed. Has that changed?

I don't particularly care about SEO in this instance. And SSL is not a requirement under GDPR (and I don't want another GDPR debate).

I'm purely asking about security. Is Xenforo's standard security "weak" and is the message above correct? I thought passwords were hashed and salted, making his comment factually incorrect.

And SSL is not a requirement under GDPR

It is. You need SSL for your contact form and your registration form. Since it is more work to make it only for those two things, it is easier to make the whole domain SSL.

There are free SSL services out there. It is a 30 second implementation. So not worth risking anythimg...

I don't particularly care about SEO in this instance. And SSL is not a requirement under GDPR (and I don't want another GDPR debate).
It is whenevener PII is being transmitted, eg. at least for login and contact us, might also be the case for user profiles etc.
You really should put your whole site on HTTP/2, this also improves performance.

I'm purely asking about security. Is Xenforo's standard security "weak" and is the message above correct?
In order to support multiple authentication systems XenFor does transmit passwords in plaintext.

I thought passwords were hashed and salted, making his comment factually incorrect.
In the databae, not when the user logs in.