How does license renewal work?

Lumina

I am a student that wants to have a look at all sorts of software, but I am aware that xenforo is definitely the software to use for an online community. I do not own an online community, and I do not manage one, but I want to create one in the future. Since I'm just a student, it would be hard to afford xenforo. If I bought a copy now, and didn't renew it for a couple of years (therefore, losing access to updates and support), would I be able to renew it when I want to get updates again? Or would I have to buy another license.

Also, no, I'm not going to use phpBB or that stuff, I have tested over 15 free forum software's and they aren't very good

The initial license purchase is a one off payment, which includes 12 months of support and updates.

After 12 months, the license is still valid and you can continue to use the software with no additional charges, but should you wish to download new releases or access ticket support, you would need to purchase a 1 year extension.

Otherwise you can choose not to renew support and remain on the same version.

XF is not a hosted service, so you will also need to separately purchase a domain (URL) and hosting (server).

The initial license purchase is a one off payment, which includes 12 months of support and updates.

After 12 months, the license is still valid and you can continue to use the software with no additional charges, but should you wish to download new releases or access ticket support, you would need to purchase a 1 year extension.

XF is not a hosted service, so you will also need to separately purchase a domain (URL) and hosting.
Also a bit off topic, is there a "discount" for students like me? I'm sure you have been asked this question many times, but my debit card is running low :ROFLMAO:

XF is not a hosted service, so you will also need to separately purchase a domain (URL) and hosting (server).