1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XF 1.2 Documentation / How To - Soft Delete vs. Hard Deletes

Discussion in 'XenForo Questions and Support' started by ProCom, Sep 18, 2013.

1. ProCom

ProCom Active Member

I'm still VERY new to xF so please be patient with me <hide>

Today in our testing sandbox a moderator deleted their own post. In our current system there is only hard-delete. Her post shows for me as:

My questions:

1. Is there any documentation about "soft" vs. "hard" / permanant deletes?
    2. Is there a way to "restore" a soft-deleted post? I'm surprised I didn't see a "restore" or "undelete" option on the post.
    3. How are soft deleted posts hard deleted? I don't even see that as an option on the soft-deleted post. I assume that if there is a restore option then it would just need to be "permanently" deleted after it was restored from soft-delete?

Thanks in advance for entertaining my dummy question!
  2. Brogan

Brogan XenForo Moderator Staff Member

Soft is removed from view.
    Hard is removed from the database.

The message above relates to a soft deleted post.

Soft deleted posts can be undeleted or hard deleted.
    Both are moderator permissions.
  3. Liam W

Liam W Well-Known Member

Also, you access the undelete/delete option by checking the checkbox next to the post and using the box that pops up :)
  4. ProCom

ProCom Active Member

Thanks Brogan!

I'm the admin of the site and I don't see any way to "undelete" the soft deleted post. I looked in the Admin group permission settings and see "Undelete threads / posts:" is selected as "allow" for my group, but I can't see where / how to restore a post.

I see a "show" option, but no other options to "restore" or "undelete". I bet I'm missing something SUPER simple and right in front of me, but I can't find it.
  5. Liam W

Liam W Well-Known Member

Did you see my post?