Completely new to nginx

Brent W

So I have given Centmin a try and have it up and running. I have never used nginx before but I have setup a vhost for my domain and uploaded all the files.

Where do I place the rewrite rules for nginx?

This is the path to my domain

/home/nginx/domains/secfootballforums.com/public

So I have given Centmin a try and have it up and running. I have never used nginx before but I have setup a vhost for my domain and uploaded all the files.

Where do I place the rewrite rules for nginx?

This is the path to my domain

/home/nginx/domains/secfootballforums.com/public
Rewrite rules (and all directives) are placed in the vhost definition. I believe (in the Centmin mod) those files are kept under /home/nginx/domains/ and then appropriate name configured.

Scratch that... those are for the actual sites themselves.
Look under /usr/local/nginx/conf/conf.d and see if they are there (had to ssh into the centOS box to look).

You could also create a htaccess style configuration that looks for a file under each vhost to include with your rewrites, but it's best to put them in the actual virtual host definitions.

You could also create a htaccess style configuration that looks for a file under each vhost to include with your rewrites, but it's best to put them in the actual virtual host definitions.
Agreed. For me the simplicity of including it in the file vhost definition itself helps on following the logic without having to go into a second file to look.

Agreed. For me the simplicity of including it in the file vhost definition itself helps on following the logic without having to go into a second file to look.