Childhood Dreams vs. Current Reality, Share Your Journey

Starbucks

This is rather a deep question...

I'm from the Netherlands but I live in Argentina now.

When I was a kid I always wanted to become a teacher. I ended up studying international business and now I work in the web development and UX design field, collaborating with organizations like the United Nations... which is quite a departure from teaching (even though I often need to "teach" several UN Departments about how they cannot randomly implement their own design on things).

Three years ago when I arrived in Argentina I barely spoke Spanish.. now I can have phone calls in Spanish and had driving classes in Spanish!

What about you? What did you used to dream of doing when you were younger and how does it compare to what you're doing now in your career?

I wanted to be a web developer.

I am an automation engineer.

Both are programmers. I almost got there!

Wanted to be a LEO. Was one. Lost the joy after the last shooting so got into IT (both were interests of mine in school).
Retired and don't really care about doing anything else that feels to much like work now.

As a kid growing up i really wanted to do something in retail.
I have done a graphic design course and an IT course. Loved them a lot but found it hard to do.
Now i am doing drawings and cooking new things.

Very deep in some respects. I always wanted to play in a rock band, taught myself how to play guitar and later some keyboards. Played in a band for 15 years, did some recording work, played numerous live gigs. Wasn't happy working for others, but had to put up with it until I got into web design and graphic design, so spent the last 20 years of my working life as self-employed. Currently retired now and just mess about with my three websites, play mahjong on my Mac Mini Pro, check my emails daily, order stuff online and watch movies.