if (!$result) {
        die("Database query failed: " . mysql_error());
    }

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
        echo $row[1]." ".$row[2]."<br />";
    }

mysql_close($db);

?>

I wrote this code yesterday night and within 12 hours I started getting below error:-

Cannot allocate memory: couldn't create child process:

Can anyone tell me what was wrong in creating connection using above way. Do I need to use persistent sql connection??? I'm new in PHP , so any help will be greatly appreciated

I got those errors randomly on my old host. No idea wtf it really means but I can probably suggest that SELECT * should be narrowed down to exactly what you need. If you're calling on the ENTIRE db for your xf install, then a poopy hosting company might give your a lot of those errors. lol

I moved hosts and haven't really had an issue...

But at least narrow down the exact tables you're using ie xf_user.*, xf_thread.*

mysql_* is not only 2007, it is deprecated in PHP 5.5 too. So it will throw a message (unless you switch that off with error_reporting), so better don't use it for future compatibility's sake.

mysql_* is not only 2007, it is deprecated in PHP 5.5 too. So it will throw a message (unless you switch that off with error_reporting), so better don't use it for future compatibility's sake.

So which should I use??? I want to use simple option ... instead of mysql_connect... what should I use???

mysql_ is sooooooo 2007. (So is md5 for password hashing, by the way)

Use the mysqli library, or PDO.

mysqli library is not heavy?? what xenforo uses for establishing connection?? I want simplest solution... what should I use instead of mysql_connect??

So which should I use??? I want to use simple option ... instead of mysql_connect... what should I use???

You should consider PDO as it is much more flexible (it can be used for all databases that PDO supports)
http://wiki.hashphp.org/PDO_Tutorial_for_MySQL_Developers