What are major features needed in 3.0?

I'm a software developer. I'm well aware of Major, Minor, Revision, Build in versioning. A major release is rarely a ground up rewrite, not sure where you're getting that from. A major release comes out when development warrants the feature set warrants the major version number change.

Three or four years from now who knows what we will want or need? The whole landscape could change. I understand you're asking about major releases but as Brogan pointed out that is not 3.0 it is 2.x. 🤷‍♂️

I’m hesitant to close this but I will at least say this:

If you want to discuss new features - and believe me you guys don’t need to worry about whether it would be a 2.x level feature or 3.x level feature - the most productive place to do so would be in specific suggestions in the Suggestions forum.

When we’re considering new features for inclusion in XF 2.x or 3.x that’s where we’ll be looking, not here.

So while I won’t close this, please direct your good ideas and constructive discussion over there so we can actually find it in the future 🙂

Im curious on what are you planning for Xenforo?

Platforms are going ham with new features, not only forums CMS but Social Media Platforms.

First party features are the bread, and add-ons are the butter. For Xenforo the bread is thin and the butter most of the time is expensive.

Half of the "good" suggestions are closed because "lack of interest" and the other half will probably remain a suggestion for a lot of time or for ever.

Knowing what will come in the future can be useful to remove some uncertainty from our business.

Running a forum is hard nowadays, i expect a lot more communication from the platform i rely on.

A major release comes out when development warrants the feature set warrants the major version number change.