XF 2.2 Migrating XF 1.5.21 data to new Xenforo 2.x installation

jmyres

I've been maintaining a small film community forum for about 12 years using cPanel on CentOS 7 and XF 1.5.21. Our hosting provider recently asked to migrate our VPS from CentOS 7 to AlmaLinux 8. I made complete backups of everything before the upgrade, but after the move our forum is presenting Service Unavailable errors. I'm see now that I really underestimated the severity of the OS update and hope there is a way forward.

The forum was running extremely well before the update, and I believe our data backups are sound. Is there a good strategy for upgrading to XF 2.3 with our 1.5.21 database and home directory files? Thanks for any input.

The new VPS supports XF's requirements, but our site admin page is not functioning (503 error) after the move to the new OS. Is there a way to migrate our data to, say, a fresh XF 2.0 installation and upgrade from there? Or any other strategy?

The server error log should indicate what is causing the 503 error.

However, if the server environment is not suitable for XF1 then you would need to upload the XF2 files in order to access the install script.

There is an XF importer but you can only import from XF2 into XF2.

Ok, thank you. I am working with my hosting provider and they feel everything is OK except for the PHP version and possibly old plugins as you said. If I can get the admin area working I'll take the steps you mentioned to complete the update to XF 2.0+

From memory I believe XF 1.5.21 will work with PHP 7.2, as will XF 2.3.

So if you can set the PHP version to that you should be good.

You can upgrade PHP to 8.0 once you have upgraded to XF 2.3.