1&1 warning

Marc

Hi Guys,
Just a quick heads up for 1&1 cloud server users. Yesterday my site was down for over 6 hours and I could not access it any other way than through the vnc connection to ssh. Was told everything was fine there end and therefore it must me my end.

Now I dont profess to being an expert in setup, however I am learning and had changed nothing. As far as I was concerned I had everything setup securely and optimised well. But since Im new at it I spent all that time working through all the different things it could be, even to the point of completely removing all settings from the IPtables in case the service wasnt shutting down correctly and much more.

After a while I shut off the firewall on 1&1 on the off chance that could be the cause, even though I hadnt changed anything on that since the initial setup of it. I found this to be the cause of all the problems and absolutly nothing to do with server setup. Now bare in mind I had already rang them 4 times for advice, I was told when ringing to inform them that they have an issue with it (ie its blocking everything rather than what I tell it to) they informed me that there are a few customers having problems with it and they have been looking at it all day. Needless to say I was extremely annoyed at not being told.

So just a word of warning to people. If your having similar issues and your sure you havent done anything to cause it, your sure your server isnt being attacked etc etc. Try switching off their external firewall as your next port of call rather than messing with anything else as it may well be them.