🖼 Massively increase your social engagement & visibility with a custom OpenGraph/Twitter Card image generator!

adamgreenough

Hi everyone! 👋🏻

I'm a web designer & developer from the sunny south coast of the UK and I run the Webwide web design forums.

OpenGraph and Twitter Card images are the images that social networks and messaging apps grab for your posts and display alongside the links. By default, the XenForo ones are either missing and show no image or grab some random image from the page which is rarely optimal and make your links on social media look unenticing.

With custom, automatically generated OpenGraph/Twitter Card images you can stand out in the feed, provide more context about the link and reinforce your brand image (as well as making links more enticing to share for your users with their avatar & name featured).

I can custom design the cards and pull through almost any thread info using the XenForo API that you like, here's what I've gone for on my forum. I have a variety of background colours that it picks at random. All images are generated automatically from a template when they are requested by the networks.

Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 00.47.19.png
See more live here:
Try sharing any thread from my forum to see how it works.

Looks great, how much will it cost me?

Hosting (use your existing hosting)
We can set this up alongside your existing forum hosting or any other hosting that will run XenForo. You will need some storage space to store the images. They are around 60kb each but only one is generated per thread (only on threads that are shared) and then saved. 1,000 threads will be 60mb. 20,000 threads will be about 1.2GB.

Bandwidth (minimal)
Almost always these are saved and cached by the social networks themselves and they are not downloaded by users as part of a normal page load. Bandwidth usage is very minimal under normal circumstances.

Screenshot API (from free)
For small forums with under 100 threads per month: