Xenforo moving from namecheap shared to digital ocean, aws or?

Artonn

Hi. So I'm quite new in this field, and trying to find the best and cheapest solution to host my xenforo forum in an optimal place.

I've come around issues with my emails landing in spam, and my website sometimes getting the error "XF\Db\Exception: Too many connections ", and come to realize that perhaps it's a better idea to run on a vps or some kind of cloud solution. There's also been some plugins I couldn't use because I was unable to install things like pngquant.

So I'm just seeking advice on where to start? I've heard good things about DigitalOcean and the prices won't be crazy. I was hoping to maximum pay a 50 usd a month. So far I know I need something I can run some type of linux on, storage and am mail service kinda like SES from AWS. And maybe somekind of mysql database, which is either just hosted on the cloud/vps or a seperate service. I'm not sure on what would be the best.

I'm also interested in know how I can move my forum from a shared hosting(currently using namecheap stellar plus) to the new "place" in safe and smooth manner.

Thank you.

I don't want to influence your choices in any way, and I hope others can advise you on what you ask for, but for 10 bucks more, at least you don't have to deal with syncing all those services. Then it should not be underestimated that everything is centralized and unified and what's more it is all built specifically for the XF.

Reactions: FTL
I was hoping to get something cheaper than 50 usd, I see that digital ocean can be setup for 6 usd. I also already have a standalone licence for xenforo.
If you're comfortable with running your own server, get a droplet, install Centminmod, and go to town.

FWIW, if you start with AWS instead, you can pretty much get hosting free for a year with their Free Tier.
Disclosure: I'm an independent AWS consultant. :P