XF 2.2 partial import from UBBThreads export

BrianS

I run an XF 2 forum (XF Forum) that has zero revenue. I've been given an SQL export file from a UBBThreads forum (UBB Forum) that also has no revenue or support and is on its last legs. Our intention is to import some of the data -- but not all of the data -- from the UBB Forum into my XF Forum.

UBBThreads is not one of the forums supported by the XF importers.

My plan has been to import the UBB Forum data into the MySQL database on the server that hosts my XF site and then create a set of migration processes that will update the XF forum with the desired info from the UBB forum. For test purposes, the XF forum has now been duplicated on a different host that's essentially invisible to the world. That's where we'll create and test whatever migration steps are needed. Once we're happy with those, we'll run the migration once against the production XF forum and, hopefully, be done.

As background, I have many years of experience creating conversions to move data from various other databases into Oracle databases, where both the target and host systems were both complex business systems. The process I'm envisioning here is a very simplified version of the processes I've used in the past. However, that does not mean that I'm not overlooking critical problems. :)

A couple of notes:

1. There is some overlap in the user population between the two forums. We only want to create new users for those who don't already exist in the XF forum.
2. We don't want to import all of the forums from the UBB Forum.
3. The UBB Forum did not allow users to post attachments or images so there is essentially no data beyond users, threads and posts.

Here's my plan:

1. Manually create the forum nodes needed in the XF Forum to replicate the forums that will be imported from the UBB Forum.
2. Identify users who do not currently exist in the XF Forum and create those users in the XF Forum.