• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

how do I hard delete a post/thread?

Jo.

Well-known member
#1
I can't seem to find an option to hard delete (I'm pretty sure the permissions are set right). I can soft delete but I can't find where to hard delete, so there's no deletion message left.
 

Jo.

Well-known member
#3
yeah I saw that and have it set properly... but I don't know where the option is on the actual post/thread to delete it?
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#4
If you have the permissions set correctly, you are presented with a choice when you click on Delete.

permanently_delete.PNG
 

Jo.

Well-known member
#5
ahh I think I know what the problem was... I had primary usergroup as admin, but secondary as moderator and we don't allow mods to hard delete. I assumed that if you've got admin as primary, those permissions would be override any of the secondary usergroups?
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#6
Did you have the moderator hard delete set to Deny?

That's the only time an allow will be overridden (except for node permissions).
 

Jo.

Well-known member
#7
yeah it was set to deny.

we don't want mods to have the ability to hard delete - so we checked deny.
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#8
Deny will override everything and shouldn't normally be used.

Just set it to default which is the same as no.

Permissions are cumulative so being in 2 groups, 1 with it set to default and the other set to allow will allow the permission overall.
 

Jo.

Well-known member
#9
okay - thanks for explaining, and for your help - much appreciated!

One final question though - how do you know what 'default' gives permission to - is it dependent on what usergroup that usergroup is created from as a base or something?
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#10
Well default just means no or not set and as I said earlier, the permissions are cumulative.

So if the registered user group has "Delete thread by self" set to default then it means they don't have the permission to do that.
If they are then added to another group which has "Delete thread by self" set to allow then they will be able to.

See this thread by Jake which may help to explain it more: http://xenforo.com/community/threads/understanding-permissions.5830/