1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Goodbye to Winamp, the best MP3-player ever made

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by aculate, Nov 24, 2013.

1. aculate

aculate Well-Known Member

My stomach dropped when I read this news. I've been using winamp since early 1998, almost 16 years. It's the best music player ever created and now it will disappear on December 20th.
    Over the years, I've been playing around with other players but i always come back to winamp.
    It's a sad day, I'm sad. Winamp is my single most loved piece of software, a legend, and now it's gone, just like that!

Goodbye winamp. Thanks for the good times.

Wuebit, Luke F and Adam Howard like this.
  2. Sheldon

Sheldon Well-Known Member

It has self uninstall? :confused:

3. SilverCircle

SilverCircle Well-Known Member

Had to correct this. Foobar >> Winamp. By light years :)

But yeah, back then when Winamp came out and fueled the MP3 hype, it was a pretty exciting piece of software. Until 2.x, then AOL took over and whenever AOL takes something over, it's going to be ruined. This rule is *almost* as reliable as the four laws of thermodynamics :)

Shyuan likes this.
  4. Adam Howard

Adam Howard Well-Known Member

If you're an AOL user (yes, they're still out there), it just might. AOL has some history of having things they discontinue be removed upon upgrading their AOL software.

Of course if you're not an AOL user and not using the AOL software.... You have nothing to worry about.

5. Sheratan

Sheratan Well-Known Member

Dang! Now what software I suppose to use to playing music in Team Speak?

6. aculate

I get the irony, there's no self uninstall, but a software with no more updates, on the long run, it's no use to me...
    There's other options, like foobar or mediamonkey, but Winamp was my first :)

7. Kevin

Kevin Well-Known Member